top of page

Lake Superior Mermaids Series

Beneath the Surface
Publication Date: September 8, 2023

Buy eBook on Amazon or read on Kindle Unlimited.

Mermaid Waverly dreams about being where the people are. As she lurks in the Lake Superior, waiting for bodies to be dropped and to serve Mother, she stares up at the surface: a place she longs go but isn’t allowed. Why must mermaids have so many rules on them?

When her time finally comes to go to the surface for a month of fun with other mermaids, she wants to walk and dance like the mortals do, and she also plans on seeking out a boy she once saved from Lake Superior. She has a duty to Mother and her fellow mermaids, but what about her duty to love? Could it come at a cost? Lake Superior never gives up Her dead.

Beneath the Surface combines fairy tale mermaids with urban fantasy with college students in this new book series, great for readers who love Amanda Hocking’s Watersong series and Anne Greenwood Brown’s Lies Beneath

You do NOT need to read the Castle of Skulls series to read this series.

Trigger warnings include but are not limited to sexual suggestions, innuendos, scenarios, scenes; drug and alcohol abuse; violence; descriptions of gore, blood, and death; loss of a child or a stillborn birth and childbirth; banishment; and body shaming. Please use self-judgement before reading.

Beneath the Surface .jpg

Don't miss the second Lake Superior Mermaids book coming in May 2024.

Praise for Beneath the Surface

"Little Mermaid retelling, anyone? You've got mermaids in Lake Superior with a college setting... what could go wrong? We've got romance, action, travel--just great! Quick, easy read." --Goodreads review

"I’m such a sucker for a good love story. Absolutely enjoyed it the whole way through. Looking forward to the next story in the series, considering I let out an audible gasp at the end of the preview 🫢" --Goodreads review

bottom of page